Notices
EvoM New Member / FAQs / EvoM Rules New member? Come on in, introduce yourself, and get acquainted with the evolutionm.net posse :) FAQs will also be answered in here.

New to tuning, looking for advice

Search this Thread

Old Jul 25, 2002 | 11:32 AM

Question New to tuning, looking for advice

Hey everyone. I'm pretty new to the car tuning scene, and I have a few quick questions, please bear with me, I'm gonna sound like a twit at points. I'm getting a Lancer finally, ES, and want to know what are the best mods/parts to use. My goal is to get it built so I can enter into a few local rally events. If anyone can offer any advice on what parts to get, what order I should do all the mods in, and any other advice you could offer. Thanks in advance.
Old Jul 25, 2002 | 11:50 AM
Evolving Member

can you really go rally with a fwd car?
Old Jul 25, 2002 | 12:30 PM
Evolved Member

Originally posted by cleofis
can you really go rally with a fwd car?
Citroen Xsara WRC car
Old Jul 26, 2002 | 10:10 AM

yeah and that car is pretty damned fast too...there used to be a civic rally too. and the carolla is fwd, and a hyundai elantra...
Old Jul 26, 2002 | 10:11 AM
Evolving Member

have we all forgotten about RMR's lancer? they have a US spec rally beast too.
Old Jul 26, 2002 | 10:14 AM

oh, and to answer the question...you want suspension parts. thats just to start. i know the car is "rally inspired" but if you want to be realistic it's suspension is crap. you will need deeper treaded tires, stiffer suspension..box it in with sway bars, tie bars, and some thicker anti-roll bars. stiffer springs (the shocks/struts should be ok if it is a new one). and to really drive an off-road race you are going to need more torque...and hp. lancer only pushes out like 90-100 normally. power like that wont get you out of the mud.
Old Jul 26, 2002 | 10:20 AM

-Trubo....lots and lots of turbo
-Supension
-Weight Reduction
-Better Breathing (intake, TB, headers ect..)
Old Jul 26, 2002 | 10:21 AM