Notices
EvoM New Member / FAQs / EvoM Rules New member? Come on in, introduce yourself, and get acquainted with the evolutionm.net posse :) FAQs will also be answered in here.

Weather Evo

Search this Thread

Old May 10, 2004, 12:42 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Weather Evo

u know i just thought of something...this is my first time having a turbo car. EVO 8 yea well my question is. i live in arizona and it's very hot here like 100-110 degrees out side. could my car be running a bit slower due to the hot weather....does it affect turbo in anyway? i notice that in the winter my car goes pretty fast. but than again i just added an aem intake and a perrin downpipe. recently . i felt that i loss horsepower but could this be because of the hot weather? and i actually gain but it's just too hot to tell. or did i really lose horsepower by added the two things i did.
Old May 10, 2004, 12:48 PM
UFO
Evolved Member

Hot weather & humid weather absolutely kill cars. The air is more dense when cold and dry.
Old May 10, 2004, 01:24 PM
Evolving Member

Yup, UFO is exactly right.. The combination of high temps and humidity will really kill your power. Just go out on a cool desert night and nail it, you will see what we are talking about.

People may chime in on how the turbocharger is supposed to make up for the lack of dense air. While they are right to some extent, it still will really hurt performance. It's just the way forced induction goes.
Old May 10, 2004, 01:39 PM
Evolving Member

my first turbocharged car as well, and i can say i was pretty scared when i drove the car on a really hot day. thought i may have broken into the car improperly or something, but the more i drove it the more i realized that cooler the temperature the better it performed, and as it got hotter the turbo wouldnt really pull me back into my seat as it normally would've done