Notices
General Engine Management / Tuning Forum Discuss general EMS tuning concepts that do not pertain to a specfic brand or product.

Autronic vs. AEM

Search this Thread

Old Oct 18, 2004, 03:13 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Autronic vs. AEM

I'm currently in the market for a standalone, my mods are as follows, ams gt35rl turbo kit, ams 680cc injectors, ams fuel rail, hks 272 intake and exhaust cams, walbro 255lph fuel pump, arp head studs, and arp rod bolts. That is about all as far as the motor goes. I have all of the supporting mods for the rest of the drivetrain.

I'm currently running the utec, and i've run into a few limitations that have made me look into standalones, my tuning experience is substantial with the utec, but I have very little tuning knowledge with other units.

I'm debating between the autronic and the AEM ems, I don't like that the autronic doesn't have a knock sensor, and that it is not interfaceable with other wide band units.

I'm wondering if any of you have had experience with both units, and if so what is your preferance, and why,
please only respond if you have used both units,
thanks,
Rob
Old Oct 21, 2004, 07:29 PM
Evolving Member

A fully equipped Autronic is far more expensive.

http://www.tatomotorsports.com/autronics_price.asp
Old Oct 21, 2004, 07:52 PM
Evolving Member

Autronic ECU for US Spec EVO8--1800
L1H1 UEGO--325
Autronic Boost Valve Small--150
Bosch LSM-11--255

Overall, seems far more capable--but definitely a larger investment.
Old Oct 21, 2004, 08:08 PM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Either system will work great if you know how to tune with them. I had similar mods except for the turbo. I'm putting my car back to stock because I don't know how to tune the AEM EMS. The shop that did the mods was Bust Solutions (they've since gone under) and they did not know what they were doing and made a disaster out of my car.