Notices
General Engine Management / Tuning Forum Discuss general EMS tuning concepts that do not pertain to a specfic brand or product.

utec nub question

Search this Thread

Old Jun 4, 2006, 05:13 AM
Evolved Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
utec nub question

damn!t guys! ok i know my bolt-on mech. cr@p, but im a newb on ecu, pls. bear with me. i don't have utec yet but i'm planning on getting once i get back from this sh!tty desert. you guys sound sooooo smart, i've been reading for a couple of days now, i get a lot of good info. but most of them, i still don't understand. is there any "BASIC-OF-THE-BASICS" type of discussions in here that i can read, you know, the not so super high tech. very scientific computer genius words you guys throw out?

also i read about that if you go all out, the stock ecu cant handle the power. if i have tbe, intake, FMIC, cams/gears, valvesprings, fuel pump, hks power...something, and maybe stage 2 turbo, will the utec handle it?
Old Jun 5, 2006, 05:35 AM
EvoM Guru

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
I would start with a book on EFI tuning.. Its pretty generic but should get you understanding the basics of what we discuss..

I'm not sure how "old school" you are, but I learned how to tune on a Carburetor and vacuum/mechanical distributor.. The concepts are the same only your telling a computer to do the work for you..

Don't believe ANYONE when they tell you the stock ECU cannot handle power levels, although there are limitations, they are not a concern for 90% of the modifications most evo's have.

I would do more research on your modification path since your not familiar with most of this stuff yet (the HKS Power somthing and stage 2 turbo, was a dead giveaway )

However, the good news is a UTEC can easily handle anything you want to throw at it.. Especially if/when they ever release a new firmware..