Notices
General Engine Management / Tuning Forum Discuss general EMS tuning concepts that do not pertain to a specfic brand or product.

Tuning Selection for Newbie

Search this Thread

Old Jan 21, 2007, 11:36 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tuning Selection for Newbie

hi, I am a newbie looking into engine tuning. After all the reading and research, I think
I can concluded that our stock car is tuned under its full potential, and getting a
simpe reflash or tuning will yield good extra power, and better gas mileage.

And that is what I plan to do, for a newbie, just a reflash with no mod.

After reading many posts here, I start to get confused. There are so many different
options, AEM, ECU+, Ecutek, etc... I know they do basically the same thing, but when
I read into some of the more technical post, I was totally lost.
After a while, I have no clue on which company/device to go with.

I like to start a thread to gether some basic info on these company/device.
It will be very helpful for newbie like me. And please correct me if I get something wrong.

Please help me to compile this list. It will go something like this:

Company Name/Device name, General Desciption, Cost, Requirement, Pro, Con.

[Cobbing Tuning/Access Port]
Not Available for IX yet. Pending Spring time.

[AEM EMS]
Not for newbie.
Powerful tuning tool. Gain more power than Stock ECU, especially for heavily modded car. [bwesley82]

[Apex-i/Power FC]
I have no clue

[Apex-i/ S-AFC, S-AFCII]
??

[Autronics]
??

[ECU+]
??

[EcuFlash]
Description: Software Program that allow usr to change setting in the stock ecu.
Cost: less than $100
Requirement: laptop, special cable form www.tactrix.com, software from www.openecu.org
Pro: Allow the user to flash and reflash on their own
Purchase map from vender via email
Con: Not a custom tune
Tuner selling EcuFlash mapping: Jestr, TTP and Dynoflash [thanks to gudmurder]
[EcuTek]
???

[ECU Reflash]
Description: ECU reflash support by many tuner