Notices
General Engine Management / Tuning Forum Discuss general EMS tuning concepts that do not pertain to a specfic brand or product.

Haltech or Pro EFI?

Search this Thread

Old Oct 6, 2011, 10:02 PM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Haltech or Pro EFI?

I'm looking to go to a stand alone and I have heard a lot of good about the Haltech. My tuner is a dealer for Haltech but also Pro EFI and he loves the Pro EFI but I cant find much info on them here. I am also concerned with being military and having to move a lot I want to make sure I can find a shop that can tune me when I move from this area.

Any insight you guys can give me would be great as I'm a real noob when it comes to tuning and after market ecus.
Old Oct 7, 2011, 10:17 PM
Evolved Member

30 views and no one with any insight?
Old Oct 7, 2011, 10:39 PM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
any particular reason your choosing to go with a standalone vs stock ecu? and what are your future plans for the car? (DD, road course, drag stip etc)

you have the right idea about tuning. a lot of shops will refuse to tune cars with either of those engine mgmt systems. i am sure you can find someone to do it but depending on where you are, you may have to drive...

what shop are you currently dealing with out in KS if you dont mind me asking?
Old Oct 9, 2011, 06:22 PM
Evolved Member

My current shop is Modified. My main reason to go with a stand a lone is I keep seeming to have issues with my tune. It'll get tuned run great then it'll start seeing knock and then pull timing. Also I am currently on SD and at low rpms the car has a slight stutter and its my understanding that it's from the stock ecu trying to do speed density.

As for plans for the car, first Im getting bigger injectors to break the FP Red hp record since I'm so close, then probably ball bearing 6262 making around 750 to the wheels and not sure what I'm gonna use that for lol.
Old Oct 16, 2011, 10:31 AM