Notices
Lancer Audio and Security (All models) Discuss new audio system upgrades or alarm configurations.

Help on stereo for my evo. What's a good setup?

Search this Thread

Old Jan 26, 2003, 04:24 PM
gtr
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Help on stereo for my evo. What's a good setup?

I'm thinking about running.

4 Infinity Kappa speakers

Kenwood KDC-X959

2 of something else that fits.

Anybody here have good recommendations? I'm interested in clearity and high quality bass .

I'm a stero newbie and need help.
Old Jan 26, 2003, 04:28 PM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
boston acoustics, mb quarts, or infinity kappa perfects. and definitely power them with an amp, something efficient. phoenix gold is good. add a sub/amp for bass, if you don't want to be overpowered get something like a 10" sub and power it with 200-300 watts.

all depends on what you want to spend and how much work you're willing to put in your car.
Old Jan 26, 2003, 06:51 PM
gtr
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Thinking something under a grand. Do you think the internal amps is adequate? THis radio i've found is has 3 sets of 4.5 volt, gold plated preamp output. Or do you think still think it might overheat?

Would i go with 10 or 8 guage?

thanks in advance

I just want some bare able music. I'm guessing the stock setup will sound like crap.

Last edited by gtr; Jan 26, 2003 at 06:57 PM.
Old Jan 26, 2003, 07:28 PM
Evolved Member

infinity kappa is okay....but i jus got da pioneer tsa 1767...220 watts 3way speakers....dey blow away da kappaz...2nd find a head unit with pre-amp outputs...so u can set up da sounds for ur car....

8 gauge!!!!! from da battery to da amp in da trunk...

and use monster cables
Old Jan 27, 2003, 01:33 AM
Evolved Member

hahahaha yeah right
Old Jan 27, 2003, 01:43 AM
Evolved Member

Originally posted by gtr