Notices
Lancer Audio and Security (All models) Discuss new audio system upgrades or alarm configurations.

Alarm for Evo

Search this Thread

Old Jul 12, 2003, 01:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Alarm for Evo

So ive been recently trying to decide on an alarm for the evolution? i was talking with some people today and they recommended a Python. I've also heard that clifford is also good. What do you guys think, or recommend?
Old Jul 12, 2003, 01:57 PM
Account Disabled

Im not too experienced with alarms so basically my plan was to get a good named brand 2 way pager(clifford, viper, compustar) from a shop and have them install it. Everyone seems to have their own opinions on whats good, so Im just going to go for whatever works.
Old Jul 12, 2003, 03:54 PM
N/A
Evolving Member

I thought Clifford and Viper were made by the same company? I've had a Clifford before and it worked great. I've also had OnStar in a car and liked it but I doubt I'd get it again. Maybe if I already had an alarm and money to blow.
Old Jul 12, 2003, 03:59 PM
Evolved Member

Most reliable alarm company out there is DEI. They are the makers of Python, Viper, Hornet, Sidewinder, Clifford and Avital. Their Sidewinder, Viper and Python all share same features but with different branding. Marketing and territorial strategies. Keep it simple when dealing with alarms. The basics are multiple stage shock sensor, Light FLash and siren. Door, trunk and hood triggers are also nice.
Old Jul 16, 2003, 09:17 AM

Hrmm..not a big fan of DEI products myself. I've had 2 of their alarms die on me...one cost me my car. I opted for an Alpine alarm this time around, I've always had very good luck with them..and the features matched what I wanted.

-Bedlam
Old Jul 18, 2003, 04:28 PM

Directed Electronics (DEI) Products are the most reliable products in the mobile electronics industry. I am new to this forum and a new Evo owner; I almost opted for the STI.