Notices

Weird Engine tick

Search this Thread

Old May 18, 2014, 08:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Weird Engine tick

Ok when I start my car and it's cold the engine makes a strange ticking noise but then goes away as soon as I get out of 1st gear. And if the car has been ran and I start it and it's warm there's no noise. Any help?
Old May 19, 2014, 01:20 AM
Evolving Member

Most likely a little bit of clatter from the lifters or rocker arms, mine does the same thing. Maintenance wise our cars have a valve clearance check that should be made every 60k.
Old May 19, 2014, 04:45 AM

Originally Posted by RT78
Most likely a little bit of clatter from the lifters or rocker arms, mine does the same thing. Maintenance wise our cars have a valve clearance check that should be made every 60k.
Ok how should I check that? Sorry for dumb questions I'm new to the car world I just want to learn.
Old May 19, 2014, 02:54 PM
Evolved Member

Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts
Im pretty sure we have hydraulic lifters and cannot be adjusted...i have heard sludge sometimes block oil passages going to the lifters and reduce the oil pressure the lifters need making the little ticking noise when cold.
Old May 19, 2014, 04:12 PM

Originally Posted by marcouxa1
Im pretty sure we have hydraulic lifters and cannot be adjusted...i have heard sludge sometimes block oil passages going to the lifters and reduce the oil pressure the lifters need making the little ticking noise when cold.
So you're saying I'm good? Just a inconvenience?
Old May 20, 2014, 01:56 AM
Evolving Member