Notices
Lancer General Come on in and discuss the US Lancer.

Time to quit on my Lancer?

Search this Thread

Old Nov 7, 2006, 03:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Time to quit on my Lancer?

Well no one knows me here, I often come read what you all have to say here but this is my first time posting. I come asking some advice about my lancer project. I am the owner of a Ripp Supercharged Lancer (03 ES AT), I bought the last kit they ever made and I'm sure someone here hates me for it.

This Lancer has been my project car for about a year. I've tossed in just about every RRM bolt on, built the suspension, Sparco-fied the interior and countless other mods. Overall this project has porbably cost me $30k all said and done, and honestly I haven't been happy with the results. I have about 200 WHP and a car that requires extremely high maintenance.

I guess my point is this - since the only mods left on this car are engine internals and asthetics, is it time for a new project? To port the head, bore out the cylinders, pistons, rods and trying to make the car reliable... we're talking another 8 grand, easily. Honestly I expected to make more power with everything I already had done, and I'm a bit hesistant to spend more money on a car which has seen more downtime this year than actual driving time. I don't know if I can actually get to the 300WHP mark that I thought I would have reached already.

I'm thinking it's time to sell it and move on, but this promotes a new problem: would I be able to recoup any of the losses on this car? I don't think anyone wants to pay 10 grand (my minimum asking cost) for a lancer thats been used for racing and is in constant need of tuning. Honestly it doesnt look that clean because I didn't focus on how it looks, and I geared it more towards performance.

I think I'm just screwed. I probably should've bought an Evo.
Old Nov 7, 2006, 03:25 PM
Evolving Member

Rule of Thumb:
When you mod a car, you lose money. And youll never get it back.