Notices
Lancer How To Requests / Questions / Tips If you have any questions, post them in here.

Lancer 03 grill - Help me decide

Search this Thread

Old Jul 29, 2009, 12:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lancer 03 grill - Help me decide

Hi Guys,

I'm thinking of getting rid of the stock lancer 03 grill and get a ralliart one. But since I've no experience in any kind of mods specially paint, I need your suggestions as to which one should I go with:

1. RA grill w/ RA emblem shipped painted from japanparts.com: $215+customs duty

2. RA grill w/o emblem shipped from HK (seller is C-mod) (not painted): $150+customs duty+paint cost+mitsu emblem

3. Accolade grill w/o any emblem (not painted): $125+shipping+paint cost+mitsu emblem

Now, painting is the thing that I've never done. Is that easy enough for a starter. Should I get a painted one from Japan or should I get it painted in a body-shop/try it myself (how much will the painting cost in either case).

If all of these turn out to be costing similar, I may get it from Japan.

For that matter, has anyone of you seen a RA grill with mitsu emblem. It may not be a bad option.

Thanks,
PST
Old Jul 29, 2009, 12:12 PM
Evolved Member

Received 75 Likes on 68 Posts
#1.
Old Jul 29, 2009, 12:16 PM

So, do you mean it'll cost similar in the end? I'd prefer #1 but I'm constrained on the budget so exploring other options.
Old Jul 29, 2009, 12:18 PM
Evolved Member

I personally think RRMs carbon fiber evo grille for the 02-03 lancer is the way to go. Its pretty nice and requires no paint. Its not a ralliart grille but I dont much care for the ralliart grilles myself. No worries about customs either.
Old Jul 29, 2009, 12:25 PM
Evolved Member

Buy a Ralliart grill pre-painted, it looks OEM and fits like OEM.
Old Jul 29, 2009, 12:27 PM

I'd prefer to custom match the paint, that's y the confusion. How is Accolade's grill diff from RRM, material? coz the look are the same IMO.
Old Jul 29, 2009, 12:29 PM
Evolved Member