Notices
Lancer How To Requests / Questions / Tips If you have any questions, post them in here.

Moding a CVT

Search this Thread

Old Dec 3, 2010, 06:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Moding a CVT

I've got a 2010 Lancer SE and love it. My only regret is buying CVT instead of manual. I'm new to moding and lets just say I'm not overly car savy. I already know exhausts on automatics is kinda dumb and sounds like ****. I was thinking of getting a short ram and I was wondering what sorts of things I can do to improve the performance.
Old Dec 3, 2010, 07:01 PM

Since the 08+ Lancers are still pretty new I'm not sure what they have available for after-market parts but start with the basic bolt-on for now CAI(cold air intake), header, catback/custom exhaust, light weight pulleys, weight reduction etc...those are what you want for performance just to get a little more pep out of your car.
Old Dec 3, 2010, 07:02 PM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Intakes are noise makers and won't make much power for you..what power they do add is borderline imperceptible. Save your money.

Since you're looking to mod the car, the first things you need to do are set a budget and some realistic performance goals - set those two things first and go from there.
The realistic goals part is pretty important - the Lancer is a cow wearing a cheetah pelt, so don't expect miracles.
Old Dec 3, 2010, 09:08 PM

Originally Posted by HorcH
I've got a 2010 Lancer SE and love it. My only regret is buying CVT instead of manual. I'm new to moding and lets just say I'm not overly car savy. I already know exhausts on automatics is kinda dumb and sounds like ****. I was thinking of getting a short ram and I was wondering what sorts of things I can do to improve the performance.
if ur lookin for speed, you bought the wrong car haha . u can add a little pep with some basic boltons (intake, exhaust, pulley), but if u wanna get some power out of ur engine, slap a turbo on it
Old Dec 17, 2010, 05:48 AM