Notices
Lancer Troubleshooting Get help with any troubleshooting problems you may have.

Two seperate problems! Moving steering column?

Search this Thread

Old Jul 2, 2011, 08:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Two seperate problems! Moving steering column?

Firstly, I've been driving with this problem for probably 5 months now and was told that it was an expensive fix and not to worry about it. I've become rather curious and decided to throw it at you guys. My entire steering column moves from left to right and I don't know why. It has roughly 2 inches of play back and forth, which really annoying when making tight turns. Any idea what this is?

Secondly, I've scoured the Internet (and the FS threads on here) and can't seem to find ANYONE selling a "third brake light" (the strip of lighting attached to the spoiler on my OZ Rally). Any clue where I could get one (aside from paying out the *** at the dealership)?
Old Jul 4, 2011, 10:11 PM

I'm open to any suggestions here!
Old Jul 5, 2011, 11:16 AM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
No idea on the second one but your steering column is a common issue, i fixed mine a few months ago. Whats happening is you have two bolts that hold up your steering wheel. If you take the lower have plastic off that under your steering column you will see them. They are bolted to these:

Now the grooves you see here slide into plates connected to the column here

Like so

If you do not fix this soon one day you steering wheel is just going to drop in your lap, trust me it happened to me, I could still steer fine but definately was not expecting it. To fix this I drilled through the four circles you see on each slider then ran a small bolt through each hole then used jb weld on top of that. Its been rock solid ever since. I pulled my whole steering column out as you can see but you may be able to get in there without pulling the column. Hope this helps
Old Jul 5, 2011, 11:39 AM
Evolved Member

Originally Posted by itz_speld_rong