Notices
Lancer Troubleshooting Get help with any troubleshooting problems you may have.

Timing Belt Install [PLEASE HELP]

Search this Thread

Old Jul 29, 2004 | 11:03 AM
EvoM Staff Alumni

Timing Belt Install [PLEASE HELP]

As many of you know I've been tearing down and rebuilding my motor for some time now (8 months with maybe 3-4 days worth of total work involved thus far). At any rate, I'm almost done putting my baby back together, but I'm having issues with reinstalling the timing belt. Setting the head to TDC is simple, but I'm having a little more trouble with setting the crankshaft to TDC (i.e. cyl #1 at TDC).

There is a TDC marker on the block, and there are 3-4 circles on the crankshaft's pulley belt, but the service manual makes no mention of these. The description it shows it seems has no accessory belt pulley on the crankshaft gear from my understanding. Either that or I'm just completely misunderstanding the diagram. At any rate, I need to know a couple things, and if anyone can help me I'd seriously appreciate it, as this and replacing the radiator and bumper are the last major things I've left to do.

1. Can the Crankshaft be put at TDC with this pulley on or do I have to remove it and use the timing mark on the gear itself?

2. After reading the manual for the 1.5l Mirage (I've read both 4g and 5g) they indicate that you should set both to TDC then retard the crankshaft 3 teeth on the gear in order to properly set valve timing, and to keep the valves from contacting the pistons if you try to run the car. Is the Lancer the same or is aligning both TDC marks putting the engine right on point for valve timing?

3. Is there an easy way to get the belt back on the cam gear without having 3 hands or two people (to keep tension off the belt) or am I pretty much going to want to call over a friend to help with this?

4. Any other tips, tricks, or advice?