Notices
The Loft / EvoM Car Talk Corner The landing pad for automotive discussions, news, articles, and opinions. A place for the community to kick back and chat.

05' Sti

Search this Thread

Old Sep 23, 2004, 11:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
05' Sti vs. Evo MR

I'm a newbie here and I don't know a lot of technical stuff about these two cars so excuse me if i sound a little e-tarded when asking this question ;-P

I will soon be in the market to buy one of these badboy's but i am torn. Which one should I get, and how will this benefit me? I'll probably want to go beyond daily driver tuning and from what I've heard so far, they are too close in overall potential to say one is better than the other. All I know is that the Sti is a 2.5 and the Evo is a 2.0 - techinically this would mean that the STi has more aftermarket potential and would to be a quicker car in the longrun, right?
Old Sep 23, 2004, 11:34 PM
Evolved Member

Evo has more tuning potencial and handles better its a stiffer more rigid car designed for performance not comfort.

The STi has cruise control, climate control, 6 cd changer, softer ride a little bit more stock horsepower and is a more comfertable daily driver car.

Both cars have very respectable race times and are AWD with traction control etc both are about the same price range
Old Sep 23, 2004, 11:39 PM
Evolving Member

If you are asking about aftermerket potential to be quick, there was a recent shootout between Evos, STIs, and WRXs. You might want to refer to the recent posts about the outcome of that meet.

You'll find the results to be a very good real-world answer to your question.
Old Sep 23, 2004, 11:55 PM
Evolving Member

Lets not forget, most will choose the Evo on this site anyways Dont know if it's true, but I read somewhere where they might discontinue the 2.5? Anyone else hear anything about that?