Notices
The Loft / EvoM Car Talk Corner The landing pad for automotive discussions, news, articles, and opinions. A place for the community to kick back and chat.

My brief review of the new Audi S5.

Search this Thread

Old Mar 13, 2008, 12:46 AM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My brief review of the new Audi S5.

Well, the weather in Chicago is finally getting better, so I went for a lengthy test drive tonight to check out the Audi S5 coupe, and here is what I think. Now I am no professional so just take what I say for what its worth.

First impressions: The car is a lot longer and wider than I expected. It has a mean front end, with those LED R8'esque lights. The rear looks kinda like the new 3 series, but the 4 exhaust tips look nice. The car I drove was meteor gray, but I think it looks best in black.

Performance: This things got a 4.2 V8 pumping out 354bhp so its no slouch. The acceleration was silky smooth all the way from idle to redline. The M3 and Evo like to make a racket when they are accelerating but this thing just went fast, without any fuss or drama. It didnt feel as eager to rev as the RS4 I drove last year, but the throttle response was crisp and it was still plenty fast. The demo car had all season tires on it instead of the usual high performance summer tires, but the car still handled brilliantly. I went through a few turns pretty fast but the car never seemed to be upset. The tires never made any squealing noises, during hard acceleration from a stop or during fast curves. What was even more amazing was that it did all of this all while having the ride quality of a luxury sedan. Chicago winters really **** up the roads, but the S5 took all of the bumps and potholes like they were nothing. The clutch was a little softer than what im used to, but the 6spd manual was slick and easy to use.