Notices
The Loft / EvoM Car Talk Corner The landing pad for automotive discussions, news, articles, and opinions. A place for the community to kick back and chat.

New to Bikes

Search this Thread

Old Dec 19, 2010, 01:15 PM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New to Bikes

Hey guys, so I was thinking of getting me a brand new car but a buddy of mine ended up getting a bike. I rode it (first time) and I loved it. So I decided to keep my car (no car payments) and just go for a bike. Now I'm new to bikes and I don't know much about them. Do any of you have any recommended reading to do to have a better knowledge? Or should I treat it how I did cars, and just go in it blind and just learn as I go?

I do plan on getting my motorcycle license before I even buy a bike. Any ideas welcomed!!!
Old Dec 19, 2010, 02:16 PM
Evolving Member

I would try to find a used 05 to 08 kawi 636, r6, or cbr 600. All good starter bikes with plenty of power. I have an 06 kawi 636 and its a great handling bike. The cbr has a really good powerband and the r6 is a good combo. I don't know to much about the newer bikes but I hear the power is more towards top end. Hope this helps a little.
Old Dec 19, 2010, 03:18 PM
Evolved Member

It's funny you say that, R6 is at the top of my list right now. So is the ZZR
Old Dec 19, 2010, 03:21 PM
Evolving Member

What type of bikes are you meaning? street bikes? Tour bikes?

The RECOMMENDED route to go for when being introduced to motorcycles is take the safety course first, and then get something like a kawasaki ninja 250. Great starter bikes, cheap, enough power for a beginner to learn clutching and how to use front and rear brake correctly (so you dont lock brakes up=BAD). You also wont be crying as much if you drop your 2-3k bike compared to a 6-10k newer 600cc crotch rocket. just my .02