Notices

2014 MR makes "thud" sound

Search this Thread

Old Mar 11, 2014, 06:22 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2014 MR makes "thud" sound

Hey everyone,

My MR has about 2k on it and I've noticed some unexpected shifting noises and jerks whether in normal or sport mode . If I go WOT in 2-4th gear and I let go, I immediately get a thud noise coming from the tranny. Is that normal? I also get some jerky movement on part throttle in 1-2. Another symptom is that when I experienced jerky shifts in Normal I switch to Sport or vice versa and the jerky shifts go away. I've been driving an Evo 8 for 10 years and wanted to give the dual clutch a try but it seems that it's not all that great. Doesn't feel that it's been refined or programmed up to par from the factory.
Old Mar 11, 2014, 07:59 PM
Evolving Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
That's not normal I would bring it back to the dealer and have it looked at.
Old Mar 11, 2014, 08:46 PM
Evolving Member

The SST can be glitchy at times which might explain the jerky shifts. With regard to the thud, if you are pulling hard and pull your foot off the gas, the thud is probably the diff and not the tranny. This is normal. If you want to smooth the SST out, consider doing some research on tuners that are good with the SST. I got my car tuned and the SST is a lot more enjoyable now.
Old Mar 11, 2014, 09:56 PM
Evolving Member

i dont know if we are having the same type f noise. i just got my tranny replaced under warranty.
before the work done i was tuned and the tranny had a very loud noise when the car shift in high rpm. the sounds like metal clunking.
yesterday i went to pickup my car with new tranny replaced. the noise is basically gone but i can still hear a bit in high rpm(i kept 2nd gear @ 6k rpm), its not loud but is noticeble. at first i was just thought its in cabin rattle, but the longer I listened to it then I know its not from the cabin.