Notices
Motor Sports If you like rallying, road racing, autoxing, or track events, then this is the spot for you.

Auto-x downshift question

Search this Thread

Old May 26, 2005, 11:30 AM
PPI
Former Sponsor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Auto-x downshift question

Well I did my first auto-x a few weeks ago and had a great time. Over the course of four runs I went from 49.xx seconds to 43.xx seconds....the the tsm champ who did first was 40.xx. I was pleased for my first event.

Now to my question. there was one corner after a short straight....a very hard left hander. coming out of it I was in second, actually was in second the whole course. but the rpms were very low (only in that 1 corner) and had to wait what for the rpms to come up. They probably dropped to 2600 or so. so i was wondering how does the evo trans do 2-1st downshifts while rolling. I have never tried this before. I know in my past car (wrx) it just wasn't happening and a bad thing. So is it safe, or is there another solution. Thanks
Old May 26, 2005, 11:33 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I have not tried it either but did you try left foot braking? Just an idea.....
Old May 26, 2005, 12:09 PM
Evolved Member

most of the autox events i've been in,i always stay in 2nd.there are times were i'm like "i should try to downshift into 1st".a guy here who downshifts into 1st.he says something like "clutch in,rev,clutch,shift" i'm still confused
Old May 26, 2005, 01:08 PM
Evolved Member

You certainly can downshift to 1st. I've done it in autoX with no special tricks, just clutch in, shift to 1st, clutch out. You can rev match (give throttle while clutching) to keep the car from lurching when you clutch out; that's a good idea but the transmission and clutch should handle an occasional non-rev-matched downshift as long as you ease the clutch out.