Notices
Motor Sports If you like rallying, road racing, autoxing, or track events, then this is the spot for you.

Is there a definitive opinion on the 6 speed?

Search this Thread

Old Apr 12, 2008, 10:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Is there a definitive opinion on the 6 speed?

As far as it holding up to road course use? Does a tranny cooler do the trick to keep it together? I hit the track every 4-6 weeks on season, I'm an instructor for NASA and some other car clubs.

I haven't bought an MR yet, but I'm about to pull the trigger. I don't want to get one and then have the tranny blow up on me. At the same time, if all it needs is a cooler, then I'll install one and go on my way.
Old Apr 13, 2008, 06:19 AM
Former Sponsor

First through 3 are very strong, but 4 through 6 are very small, heat build up on 4th gear can cause problems.

Replacement parts are also more expensive, you cant just buy say a second gear syncro you have to buy everything 1-3 gear together

All in all the advantages of the 6speed are outweighed by the negatives

I really don't ever see a reason to spend more money on an mr if you plan on upgrading the suspension
Old Apr 13, 2008, 06:27 AM

I'm not planning on changing the suspension for quite some time.

So does a tranny cooler help? I read the huge thread, it seemed to degenerate into an oil war.

How many people have actually blown these up and how long did they last?
Old Apr 13, 2008, 06:33 AM
Former Sponsor

Originally Posted by DocWyte
I'm not planning on changing the suspension for quite some time.

So does a tranny cooler help? I read the huge thread, it seemed to degenerate into an oil war.

How many people have actually blown these up and how long did they last?