Notices
Motor Sports If you like rallying, road racing, autoxing, or track events, then this is the spot for you.

advice for lapping addict

Search this Thread

Old Aug 8, 2008, 12:46 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
advice for lapping addict

hey all, looking for a little advice.

As with many noobs, I upgraded my Go parts first, then got track time, then quickly realized that I needed more work across the board to take advantage of it.

I'm still a noob, but I made some more mods (smart I hope), have 5 sessions under my belt, and I'm curious to hear advice regarding next steps from the addicts.

Goal is simply to continue having fun, no competition, become a better driver, get the most out of my car, faster lap times, punish my friends.

Current
==================
Go parts: 350whp
Stop parts: WORKS SS lines, motul, ferodo ds2500
Every-direction-parts: WORKS ride springs, Z1 star specs
Driver mods: HPDE + 4 daylong lapping sessions / instruction

Paths I'm considering / weakest links
===========================
- driver mods (seat time, instruction) are assumed, top of my list
- wheels / R compound tires? I've read that in absence of more suspension work, R compounds may overwhelm my suspension? But they're so tempting!
- heavier duty brake kit? If I upgrade to R comp @ 255/40/17, will my brakes again become overwhelmed?
- driver/safety mod: harness?
- safety mod: cage?

any advice appreciated. Yes, it's nearing the end of the season... but I'm thinking that the offseason is prime time to pick up some nice RPF1s on the cheap

cheers all

Last edited by tyre11c0rp; Aug 8, 2008 at 01:22 PM.
Old Aug 8, 2008, 02:36 PM
Evolved Member

You have too much power and not enough suspension.

There is no substitute for seat time.
Old Aug 8, 2008, 02:55 PM
Evolved Member

^ same....
suspension and brakes, and stick to street tires for your first year.
the stock suspension is fine for a while if you are new. The stock tires are great as well. (so are the Z1s)