Notices
Motor Sports If you like rallying, road racing, autoxing, or track events, then this is the spot for you.

Auto-X Questions

Search this Thread

Old Mar 12, 2009, 07:00 AM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Auto-X Questions

So basically I'm attending an Auto-X event coming up and I want to know what needs to be checked or replaced before I go. I have never been to an auto-x event and I'm a total newbie when it comes to knowing anything about it. I have 12k miles on the car, it is stock. Tires/Brakes/Clutch are all stock and never changed (of course oil was changed every ~4000 miles and I just changed it about 1000 miles ago). Do I need to do anything before the event to prepare?

This is just a one time thing and if I enjoy it I'll get into it so right now I don't plan on building my car to be a track car, so I'm not looking for suggestions like new coilovers, rims, sway bars, springs, etc. Just the basics I NEED before I drive it.
Old Mar 12, 2009, 07:10 AM
Evolved Member

Hey Devin!

Welcome to the world of autocross. You're in the exact spot that I was in last year at this time. Watch out it's addictive!

To be honest the car is probably perfect from the factory (especially for someone new at the sport). If you've only got 12k on the car, I imagine everything is in pretty good shape save for the tires. Better check the wear on them to see how much life you've got left.

Are you doing an autocross with SCCA in the Houston region? If so, I go every month and I'd love to meet up with you there. Getting everything prepped for your runs and knowing where to go and what to do can be pretty daunting at your first event. I'd be happy to walk you through it on your first time.

Just send me a PM or something.

Rob
Old Mar 12, 2009, 07:24 AM
EvoM Administrator

Received 39 Likes on 26 Posts
Here's my list of suggestions for you:

1. Get as much seat time with other drivers as you can. Ask them for rides, and ask them to ride with you.