Notices
Motor Sports If you like rallying, road racing, autoxing, or track events, then this is the spot for you.

Crappy handling, Understeer = wrong springs? Please Help

Search this Thread

Old Apr 19, 2009, 12:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Crappy handling, Understeer = wrong springs? Please Help

Hi guys,

I just started auto-xing my Evo and I need some major help in sorting out the suspension. I have been auto-xing for about 4 years with a rear wheel drive car, but now I can't figure out my AWD set up. I have searched and I can't seem to get a definite answer for my questions.

My car has the following:
- Race Comp Engineering springs
- Perrin rear bar and end links (set on medium)
- rear strut bar
- Stock shocks (thinking of replacing), have 40,000 miles on them

My Problem - the car understeers like crazy on initial turn-in, but it has really good off-throttle, mid turn rotation. I just can't get the initial understeer out, and it also understeers when I am on the throttle coming out of a turn (which I expected, but I want to reduce it if possible).

Question 1 - tire pressure. Some guys recommend more front pressure and less rear to combat understeer. Others say the opposite. I thought it was add more to the front to lessen understeer, but can someone clarify. I ran 36 front / 32 rear on Nitto Nt-01's. I know nitto's aren't the best, but thats what I have now and I can't afford A6's yet, but they will come soon.

Question 2 - I am thinking of replacing my RCE springs with Swift Spec -R's. Are the Swift's any better? I couldn't find specs on the RCE's and they were in the car when I bought it. I can't afford coilovers, so I thought the swifts would be nice based on other people's comments.

Any ideas on my car set up / sping question?

Thanks.
Old Apr 19, 2009, 12:25 PM