Notices
Motor Sports If you like rallying, road racing, autoxing, or track events, then this is the spot for you.

Help with brakes

Search this Thread

Old Sep 24, 2010, 06:25 AM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help with brakes

I posted this thread in the EVO X specific forum, but I thought as well that it may be helpful for me here as well.
Not sure if everyone does both forums.

Thanks for taking the time to read.

I am curious to know if other forum users are having the same issues that I have been getting.
First off, I am not new to track brake pads, having 20+ years of experience selling and using on many types of cars.
I have extensive track experience so I do not think I am over braking the corners for the cars cornering ability.

Here is what happens.

Every long track I have lapped on this year creates braking issues in the form of pulsing brake pedal after anywhere between 2 laps and 2 sessions.
The problem is uneven brake pad tranfer layer to the discs. The cure is what I am looking for.
This problem is not an issue on short courses were I am constantly on the brakes.

I have tried OE rotors and then switched to DBA 4000 slotted, when I actually believed the discs were warped. ( They weren't after further inspection)
Everytime I have the pulsing brakes, I can lightly sand the discs and everything is fine. This tells me that it is indeed uneven transfer layer...

SO- I have tried all kinds of bedding procedures. Easy, long, hard braking, 24 cooling etc.
I have tried initially HAWK DTC70s and then 60s, then 30s all with the same results. Hawk techs said that I may have TOO much brakes and can't get the heat into them.... well my calipers are black since my last test day. They suggested BLUES of which I stopped selling several years ago- and these started to pulse on my OUT LAP at WGI.
I have tried Vortex pads ( new company supplying CASCAR) and their street pads do not pulse, but their short track Nascar compound does- after 2 sessions.