Notices
Northwest Region Includes AK, ID, WY, SD, MT, ND, CO.

Pad and Rotor recomendations

Search this Thread

Old May 28, 2008, 06:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Pad and Rotor recomendations

hey everybody......this is my first time posting in this forrum, so please forgive any ignorance.......

i'm sure there's a million threads on the topic allready, but i was looking for the opinions of those in the PNW (espcieally kitsap pennisula) for a replacement set of pads and rotors for my newly aquired 06 evo 9......the constant rain and decreased (compared to say california) availability to shops i might expect to affect reponses...

i track my car about once or twice a month, but also drive it to work every day.....

the previous owner warped the rotors so it shakes under hard braking coming down from tripple digits.....it was suggested to me to have them turned, but i'm guessing that it might be cheaper to just replace them myself instead....

any thoughts?

thanks!
Old May 28, 2008, 06:29 PM
Evolved Member

get Stoptech Slotted rotors.. and ferrdo or Project MU street/strip pads

go talk to World one performance ask garret or Joey that i Sent you
Old May 28, 2008, 06:35 PM

I put Powerslot rotors and Hawk pads on mine and love them.
Old May 28, 2008, 08:27 PM
Evolving Member

Powerslot rotors are good but the slots do wear out pads a bit faster. Check out the motor sports forum, a lot of guys use Centric (I think?) blank rotors - but I'm still on the stock rotors.

As for pads, Ferodo DS2500 pads are great all-around pads but since they're not pure track pads, you have to be careful not to fade them (but they're much, much better than stock pads).

Currently I am running Pagid RS29 on the front, DS2500 on the rear. Works well, but the fronts squeal during slow stops on the street.

These are the pads I have experience with, there are many other good pads available, some mentioned in the above posts.
Old May 28, 2008, 10:38 PM