Notices
Project Cars / Build Threads Please post your build threads here.

rustykan's Evo 9 Instructional Build Guide — One Step at a Time

Search this Thread

Old Jan 15, 2023, 12:51 AM

Received 21 Likes on 12 Posts
Post rustykan's Evo 9 Instructional Build Guide — One Step at a Time

This thread will document all the changes I make to my car, my personal thoughts on each change, and explanations of how I install each part. I am a complete beginner with minimal knowledge and zero experience. I am creating this thread to serve as a resource for anyone else who is also a complete beginner. If I find that installing/swapping out a certain part is particularly complicated for me I will create a separate how-to thread explaining how to install that particular part.

I own an Evo 9 MR SE. When I purchased my Evo, the only modification it came with was an aftermarket K&N Typhoon intake.

Changes I have made to the car:

1. Binary Engineering seat lowering brackets

I replaced my driver's seat's factory seat brackets with lowered aftermarket brackets from Binary Engineering because I needed more leg room. I preferred the stock seating position to the new lowered seating position because the stock seating position had better visibility.

The seat is held in place by one bolt on each bottom corner of the seat. I had to be very careful when removing the seat, as the seat was heavy and the rails were sharp and could easily scratch the car. The stock brackets were secured to the seat rails using blue Loctite and required a large breaker bar to remove.

2. JDM rear bumper

I prefer the sleeker, more aggressive look of the JDM rear bumper to the bulbous USDM rear bumper, so I swapped mine out. JDM rear bumpers were discontinued for a few weeks this past summer (July 2022), and I worried that I had forever lost the opportunity to acquire a JDM rear bumper. When my local dealership notified me that they were back in production, I jumped on the opportunity to buy one.