Notices
South Region Includes AR, LA, MS, NM, OK, TX, NE, KS.

what's the cost of tuning?

Search this Thread

Old Apr 24, 2003, 01:54 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
what's the cost of tuning?

I'm new to turbo cars and I'm a little curious what dyno tuning costs? Assuming I get a SAFC and boost controler.

How safe is dyno tuning considering that in the real world the engine will heat up and there's much more air flow?

This car is my daily driver so I can't have an engine blow up on me.
Old Apr 24, 2003, 01:58 PM
Evolved Member

Kind of OT, but is there a place in Austin that has a 4wd dyno?
Old Apr 24, 2003, 02:08 PM
Evolved Member

Dyno tuning is a safe and great way to get maximum hp out of your setup. It is typically $100-150 an hour.
Old Apr 24, 2003, 02:23 PM

Originally posted by iodine23
I haven't been there personally but a friend told me that ProTech has an AWD dyno. ProTech is on N. Lamar across from SidePocket billiards
Old Apr 24, 2003, 02:37 PM
Evolved Member

Yeah, I've been to ProTech before a long time ago. I had them install my clutch and flywheel on my Subaru 2.5RS. I think since I've been there they've moved to a real showroom and everything, they used to be back a sidestreet in a warehouse kind of place. I think that's still their shop actually, but now it doesn't have to serve as their storefront anymore.

I should ask my friend if they have an AWD dyno, he hangs out there some and is getting suspension bits for his Si installed there. Or I guess I could always call them, but that's too easy!

FWIW he also told me that they said they've had a few Evos come in to get some stuff done to them.
Old Apr 24, 2003, 02:49 PM
Evolved Member

why not just set the Buschurracing.com settings that have been dyno tested for our Evo and come with their SAFC?
Old Apr 24, 2003, 03:41 PM
Evolving Member

Originally posted by iodine23
There is NO AWD dyno in ATX... closest one is in Dallas... but dyno tuning your car is worth every penny.