Notices
Vishnu Performance - California [Visit Site]

proper air fuel ratio for track day?

Search this Thread

Old May 10, 2004, 03:48 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
proper air fuel ratio for track day?

hello all; hope this is the correct forum for this question! i recently aquired a 2003 EVO (my new daily driver), and in two weeks will be taking it to a Drivers Ed event with the PCA (i am an instructor for the PCA, BMW CCA, Ferrari Club, etc.). i wasn't planning on ever taking it to a road track (i have 3 other dedicated race cars) but is feels sooooo good on the street, i just have to take it to a track and see what she'll do!

its all stock, with the exception of the following:
- rear muffler delete (straight pipe)
- r-nr downpipe & cat delete

thats it; no boost control (all stock controlled by the computer, which is fine with me!). safety first!

i just finished wiring in a HKS Super AFR; it is set right now to all zeros.

i have a wideband O2 meter that i can tune it on.

i've done alot of reading on the subject, and understand that the EVO stock runs very rich, especially in the higher rpms. like 10:1 rich.....

for my naturally aspirated cars, i usually tune them to 12.3-12.8:1. i realize this is not rich enough for safety in a turbo car like the EVO. i have been reading posts that say tune to 11.5:1; but i am not sure if this is for a drag car that is doing a 12 second burst, or a street car driving to work..... i will be doing 25 minute sessions of HARD HARD running; don't want any engine damage!

we get good 93 octane gas around here (east coast). what air fuel ratio should i shoot for, guys?

thank you for your insights!

todd
d15b7@aol.com
Old May 10, 2004, 05:05 PM
Evolved Member