Notices
WORKS - California WORKS is a tuning shop that specializes in the Lancer Evolution. They in-house design performance products for the Evo, so if you have a request come on in and let them know! [Visit Site]

Question on Works Exhale TBE for Evo IX

Search this Thread

Old Jan 23, 2008, 01:40 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question on Works Exhale TBE for Evo IX

I'm looking to get the Works 76mm turbo-back exhaust with high flow cat for my Evo IX. My question is about the O2 sensor in the cat.

Now I'm new to this car and I haven't taken a look around underneath it yet, but in the service manual it shows an O2 sensor plugged right in to the center of the cat, and the Works HFC does not appear to have an O2 sensor in it and only lists an application for the Evo VIII (which I'm guessing does not have this O2 sensor).

So what happens to this O2 sensor? Is there a bung at the beginning of the Works intermediate pipe for it and would this supply the proper readings in an intermediate pipe vs. being placed in the center of the cat?

What I want is a TBE that is very OEM-like in fit and finish, which is what brought me to consider the Works system. The O2 question is really the only thing keeping me from ordering it right now, as I'd rather not have to take the system to some unknown muffler shop and have them do some poor welding job putting an O2 bung on the thing (I've had bad experiences with muffler shops doing crappy work). I need something I can bolt on and off for smog checks so direct fitting parts without modification is important to me.
Old Jan 23, 2008, 07:21 AM
Evolved Member

Well as everyone calls me "WORKS fan-boy"...but so be it...to all you naysayer's I say "You get what you pay for" so here is my recap of your message post.
------------------